Worry into the Evening. Just Relax

Something I’ve particularly noticed recently in myself. As the day goes on, or I feel more fatigued in the day, and I naturally become tired, less focused, I can more easily become worried, anxious, depressed, and stressed. Now, realistically, deep inside I know I don’t have to worry, and what I worry about often doesn’t come to fruition. Many of these fears involve work, making money, losing clients or work, not getting new business, or whether others I am close with, meet or work with (clients or even coworkers, family, friends) are going to be frustrated with me and my priorities, choices, and ways I do things. When people get quiet or I don’t talk to them for a day or two when I was talking more just previously, I get preemptively worried. 
The funny thing, I am the person who actually gets quiet and wants alone time or personal time just as much as I don’t talk or see these people for periods of time. 
Back again to the fact that I’m more anxious in these ways in the second half of the day or later afternoon into the evening and night. What I’m finding out about myself is that when I have thoughts and feelings as these, what’s actually going on is in trying to do too much all at once, wanting answers prematurely, am thinking about too much, or am just naturally tired from the day (a good productive tired though). 
Looking back at my college days when I feel I was at one of my best and strongest points in my life mentally, physically, and emotionally, I would get this tired feeling, And I learned a lot about myself and these worry feelings then that I dealt with productively. What I learned that if I feel overwhelmed, anxious, tired in the evenings, it’s a key sign I need to wrap up for the night. Set aside the assignments, studying, to dos; and instead go into autopilot to get ready for bed, relax, then go to sleep. 

While other peers of mine would be cramming for exams or finishing up papers last minute with late or all nighters, I’d be drifting to sleep. 
The best part? I would wake up the next day much clearer headed, focused, and ready for the day. And my exams and work showed. My GPA and grades remained high at a 4.0 and I did just as well if not better than if I had not gotten sleep and run my mind to the ground staying up doing work. 
So how does this apply to today, or to others? A bit of science and studying shows that sleep, breaks between learning and work and application of that work, allows us to be more productive, make less mistakes, be happier even. 
This is important for me as it gives me relief that maybe my negative feelings and thoughts in the evening is just the sign I should wrap up for the night, set aside all the thoughts and to dos for the next morning and day, and let go to get rest and sleep. 
Think about how this may apply to you? Will what you’re doing late at night be detrimental if you actually got rest and did it in the morning or when you’re head was rested and recovered? Are you staying up and sacrificing relaxing time and sleep? Are you zoning out to the tv or screen time? 
Lastly, I want to reiterate that by no means do I think everyone works as I just wrote about. But some do, and for those who do fare well that’s great! I’m completely happy for you. Do what works for you. Just keep in mind yourselves, that the late nights don’t work for everyone as they do you. I’m a strong believer we can all be happy and content amongst others who may do things or thrive differently than you may. It’s having a bit of respect, no judgement or assumption, or one size fits all mindsets. 

About Rachel's Fusion

I'm Rachel Cantore of Rachel's Fusion.  I'm a Coach & Trainer specializing in Fat Loss; Behavior Change, Hormone Imbalance, and Metabolism. I take a multi-aspect approach to reaching and maintaining your goals with a 'fusion' of activity, nutrition, behavior change, psychological triggers, and lifestyle factors. From customized exercise programs and meal plans, to one-on-one coaching, to the psychology of behavior change and eating, to stubborn fat loss learn how to create YOUR 'Fat Burn Lifestyle!' Areas of expertise include: fat loss and weight management. stubborn fat, balanced living, metabolism hormone and digestive balance, emotional eating, psychology and behavior, muscle imbalances, performance.
This entry was posted in Online health coach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

