Flavor + Fun + Nutritious + Meets my Needs for my Goals = Eating Enjoyment

   
 
This is what food and eating means to me, and it encompassing all of these components is important because if one is lacking your satisfaction and satiating factor will be lacking. You will be left wanting more. 
This was today’s lunch. I’ve been wanting some sort of Mac and cheese lately but not something that is full of processed junk or loaded with empty calories. I found this box in my local store recently. It’s by @anchientharvest, my favorite line of gluten free and delicious pastas, so I had to try their newest Mac and cheese!

I portioned it out for my own serving and cooked as directed. I added some pesto (some flavor punch) to the finished pasta and sauce. 

Alongside was smoked salmon atop a beg of romaine with diced peppers and fresh ginger dressing (another flavor booster).
This only took me 20 minutes to prep! Today is a day I have time to sit down, at home, to lunch without rushing but i can still make this ahead and bring with me. 
When I can cook my meals on the stop I prefer as I can get creative with my choices and combinations and have something completely fresh. Honestly, this doesn’t happen as much as I’d like; the other times I have to bring something with me and snack on them before work. But when I have chances like today and foods as these I savor them and choose not to rush through them. 
How we feel while we eat influences how it is used within our bodies. Eat at peace and it goes to good use, eat while rushed or stressed of sorts and your digestive system slows or stops, absorption is altered and hormones slow down progress in our goals. 
Lastly, I chose to have pasta today as my lunch as my post workout. I hit the gym before coming home and my body can benefit from the carbs and protein here. I strive to eat my carbs (starches, grains, legumes, sweet fruits) at only limited times and numbers of meals per day. Specifically, about 2 meals include these types of carbs, and that’s usually either my breakfast or lunch, and post workout. I’ve found this works for me and provides me with enough energy while also helping me in my physique goals. 
The remaining meals contain mostly veggies, and lean protein, garnished with some fat or a boost of flavor of choice, sometimes with some berries. 
Some misconceptions are that you ‘need’ carbs at every meal, you shouldn’t have any carbs if you want to lose weight, or that cutting down on carbs will leave you low energy or craving more later. 
Let me clarify this! Each of these statements are absolutes, and our bodies are anything BUT absolutes. We are each a bit different in needs, and goals, and we need to figure our bodies out. Stop falling to one-size phrases and guidelines. 
Depending on your activity level, where you’re currently at in your process, your body’s metabolism…you may need more carbs. Carbs are also in more than only starches, grains, fruit, and legumes though! Vegetables also contain some carbs, as well as milk, yogurt, and dairy. 
The difference is in their amount of carbs and calories in relation to the fiber, water, and volume. Vegetables have much more fiber versus calories and carbs in a serving. Grains and starches etc are more calorie and carb dense with less fiber and water in a small serving. Therefore, you will get more full, quicker on non starchy vegetables while consuming less total calories than you would on a similar amount of the starchy/grain ones. 
It’s all about balancing and knowing which ones your body will benefit from at a given time than others and honoring those needs! 
Eating less carbs does NOT mean you need to be hungry, unsatisfied, or low energy. To boost satisfaction and enjoyment in my meals I use foods that have a punch of flavor, and cook with fresh ingredients. Flavor boosters may include hot sauce, vinegars, citrus juices, herbs, spices and salt free spice blends, mustards, sauerkraut, pickles, certain condiments like pesto and Chimichurri, tomato sauces, salsa, enchilada sauce… Depending on what your goals are you can incorporate these foods in your regular diet so that you’re enjoying you food and making progress!
Try it and let me know!
Interested in more specific guidance or plans? Contact me direct at contact@rachelsfusion.com!

About Rachel's Fusion

I'm Rachel Cantore of Rachel's Fusion.  I'm a Coach & Trainer specializing in Fat Loss; Behavior Change, Hormone Imbalance, and Metabolism. I take a multi-aspect approach to reaching and maintaining your goals with a 'fusion' of activity, nutrition, behavior change, psychological triggers, and lifestyle factors. From customized exercise programs and meal plans, to one-on-one coaching, to the psychology of behavior change and eating, to stubborn fat loss learn how to create YOUR 'Fat Burn Lifestyle!' Areas of expertise include: fat loss and weight management. stubborn fat, balanced living, metabolism hormone and digestive balance, emotional eating, psychology and behavior, muscle imbalances, performance.
This entry was posted in Online health coach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

